European University Of Lefke – North Cyprus

The University was founded by the Cyprus Sciences Foundation to be a culturally pluralistic institution of higher education which would provide relevant, diversified and attractive educational programmes to meed the needs of the diverse student population arising from the many ethnic groups in Cyprus and the surrounding Mediterranean countries.

Its mission requires innovative models of educational delivery to be used to provide for the highest standard of educational services that can be offered at the lowest possible tuition, and a policy of open admission to all without discriminating against anyone on the grounds of their nationality, race, religion, or sex.
Among the founding objectives of the university were for it to achieve a target in its student population of 50% being of non Turkish or Turkish Cypriot nationality, to use English as the language of instruction and communication, to aid and undertake study and research in the community and area related topics, and for its educational programmes to lead the internationally recognised Associate degree and Bachelor of Sciences or Arts degrees in the areas of:
The various professions of the built environment, career related semi-technical and technical fields, specifically in engineering technologies and business sciences, economics and business administration, liberal arts and sciences which degrees or diplomas would be based in western educational models. In addition, the university was to be situated in a purpose built campus with full supporting facilities, so that the university would become a centre for the cultural and economic development of the area.

The University of Lefke began in 1990 as an institution of higher education consisting of a Preparatory English Language School and two Faculties : Business Studies and The Built Environment, offering degree programmes in business studies and architecture , together with their associated Access Programmes, through Brighton Polytechnic into the English CNAA (Council for National Academic Awards) system. The number of students who registered at the time was 215. The number of staff was 22 academic and 26 administrative and support.

The university was ascribed YÖK recognition - Council for Higher Education in Turkey - in 1993. It now has four faculties, with the addition of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences and Faculty of Architecture & Technology, and offers fourteen (4-year) undergraduate degree programmes and four postgraduate degree programmes, all of which are designed on a modularised and semesterised basis. The number of full-time staff is now 49 (staff of Agriculture is not included) academic and 82 administrative and support. The student numbers are about 830. This growth has been accommodated by the construction of new buildings and modification of the original site buildings. In addition, the university operates a centre in Lefkosa for administrative and postgraduate programme purposes.
The university was renamed the European University of Lefke at the start of the 1995/6 academic year to reflect the change in programmes arising from the increasing inter-relation between Turkey, Cyprus and The European Union.

The current developments on site, due shortly to be completed, are the construction of an all-weather open -air sports court (completed) and completion of the second stage of the student accommodation block and surrounds, a very modern and functional library (financed by the Republic of Turkey).

The long term development for the Gemikonağı campus was to increase its full - time student population by about 200 per year until it attains its upper limit of 2000 in the year 2000. By that time, all the initial objectives for the university should have been achieved.

Web Site Address: