Judicial System of TRNC (North Cyprus)

The highest court in the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court functions as the Constitutional Court, the Court of Appeal and the High Administrative Court, has exclusive jurisdiction to adjudicate finally on all matters prescribed by the Constitution. The Supreme Court, sitting as the Court of Appeals , is the highest appellate court in the TRNC. It also has original jurisdiction in certain matters of judicial review. The Supreme Court, sitting as the High Administrative Court, has exclusive jurisdiction on matters relating to administrative law.

The Supreme Court, is composed of a president and seven judges.

Subordinate Courts

Judicial power other than that exercised by the Supreme Court is exercised by the Assize Courts, District Courts and Family Courts.

Supreme Council of Judicature

The Supreme Court of Judicature, composed of the president and judges of the Supreme Court, a member appointed by the President of the TRNC, a member appointed by the Legislative Assembly, the Attorney-General and a member elected by the Bar Association, is responsible for the appointment, promotion, transfer and matters relating to the discipline of all judges. The appointment of the president and judges of the Supreme Court are subject to the approval of the President of the TRNC.


The Constitution states that the sovereignty rests with the people comprising the citizens of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, without condition or reservation. The Assembly of the Republic is the place where the people, through their elected representatives, exercise this sovereignty and is the symbol of the independence and freedom of the Turkish Cypriot People.


The legislative powers of the State are exercised by the Legislative Assembly composed of fifty deputies elected for a period of five years.

The Assembly has the power to enact laws, to exercise control over the Council of Ministers and the Ministers, to debate and approve bills in connection with the budget, to give general and special amnesty, and to decide whether death penalties imposed by the courts should be carried out. It also has the power to ratify international agreements.

The Assembly may, but only by absolute majority of the total number of its members, decide on its dissolution and the holding of general elections. In case of governmental crisis, the President is empowered to dissolve the Assembly and hold new elections if and when it becomes impossible to appoint a Council of Ministers, having the support of the Assembly, within a period of sixty days. If within a period of one year the council of Ministers cannot obtain a vote of confidence or is defeated three times by a motion of no-confidence the President may dissolve the Assembly and decide to hold elections. The President may, after certain consultations, submit to a referendum issue of dissolving the Assembly.

Declaration of war and authorization to send armed forces to foreign countries, or to allow foreign armed forces to be stationed in the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, are rights vested in the Assembly, but if the country is the victim of sudden armed aggression and is not possible for the Assembly to convene, the President of the Republic is also able to decide on the use of the armed forces.